|BEAULY CENTRE, BEAULY, INVERNESS-SHIRE||CONNECTIONS INDEX|
|Beauly Centre itself also contains a weaving shop/museum, a gift shop and a 1920s room, with all manner of paraphernalia from that decade, so there's plenty to see, it's also easy to find, as it's next door to Beauly Priory.|
|BEAULY PRIORY, BEAULY, INVERNESS-SHIRE|
|In the centre of town this ancient Priory has long and ancient connections with the Frasers of Lovat and many chiefs are buried there including Hugh Fraser 3rd Lord Lovat, who was killed at Blar na Leine. It's now a ruin but is an atmospheric building steeped in Fraser history.|
|MUSEUM OF SCOTTISH LIGHTHOUSES, FRASERBURGH|
|The Museum of Scottish Lighthouses at Fraserburgh offers a unique experience and one of the areas No 1 places of interest to visit in the North East. Built around the original Fraserburgh Castle, built by the 8th Laird of Philorth, Sir Alexander Fraser in 1570 and was saved from destruction by Walter Scott.|
|Now Kinnaird Head Lighthouse it was the first lit by the newly formed Northern Lighthouse Board in 1787. Today it provides the centrepiece for the story of Scotland's lighthouse service. The new purpose build museum contains one of the largest collections of lighthouse lenses and equipment in the United Kingdom. It is difficult for us today to imagine the daunting task that lay before these early pioneers of lighthouse technology. Back in 1787 the commissioners found the expertise they were looking for in Thomas Smith. Smith had proposed a method of lights using wicks burning whale oil in front of a mosaic of reflectors.|
|Installing this unique system for the very first light at Fraserburgh he was to go on to create many of Scotland's early lighthouses and establish the family dynasty of Stevenson, engineers that would influence and dominate lighthouse innovation and construction around the world for the next 150 years.|
|The Museum contains multi-screen audiovisual presentations and tells the story of Thomas Smith and Robert Stevenson. With a unique guided tour to the very top of the lighthouse and the stunning views along the Buchan coast the visit is only complete having rested and refreshed in the Lighthouse Café. Open all year round allow two hours for the visit. The Museum is well signed from the town and is next door to the Heritage Museum.|
WINE TOWER, FRASERBURGH CASTLE, KINNAIRD HEAD.
Lady Saltoun mentions the legend of the Wine Tower in her book, Clan Fraser and the ballad written about two love struck youngsters and their tragic deaths. It's situated behind the Lighthouse museum, with spectacular views over Fraserburgh harbour.
|BACK TO TOP